Card image cap
Profile Image

Agus Dwi Santoso, Chief Coach, BA

Badminton Academy

Coach : Paul Sam
Sponsor : BadmintonScholar


Agus Dwi Santoso, Chief Coach, BA in Headline

Santoso was hired as India's new badminton singles coach after the unceremonious exit of coach Kim Ji Hyun of South Korea. Kim left India abruptly in September 2019 after guiding P.V.Sindhu to an unprecedented 2019 World Championships gold medal. At the time Agus started coaching in India South Korea's Park Tae-sang was tasked with the responsibility of guiding Sindhu along with the men's singles’ players at the Gopichand Badminton Academy in Hyderabad. Foreign coaches, who have served Indian badminton in the recent past, include Malaysian doubles specialist Tan Kim Her, experienced Indonesian singles coach Mulyo Handoyo, who was responsible for Srikanth's rise in 2017; and South Korea's Kim Ji Hyun. Along with coach Park Tae Sang, coach Santoso is in charge of India's singles squad while coaches Dwi Kristian and Namrih Suroto are taking care of the India's doubles disciplines.

International Series 2000

International, MD

Winner, 2000

New Delhi, India

BWF Challenge

International, MS

Runner, 2000

Jakarta, Indonesia

About Agus Dwi Santoso, Chief Coach, BA

Agus Dwi Santoso (born in Malang, July 26, 1965) is a badminton coach from Indonesia who is specialized in coaching Men's and Women's Singles. From 1998 to 2003, Agus Dwi Santoso occupied the National Training Center of Indonesia and coached the men's singles team. In 2010 Santoso was once again hired as Indonesia's men's singles coach at the Pelatnas PB PBSI Cipayung Training Centre. In between his stints for the National association he was a clubtrainer for PB Djarum Kudus, where he managed to make a few clubathletes brilliant. Among them are Andre Kurniawan Tedjono, Dionysius Hayom Rumbaka and Riyanto Subagja, who under his guidance were able to beat several international top players. Other players who coached under Santoso in the past are also Indonesian two-time World Championships medalist (silver–2007, bronze–2009)[2] Sony Dwi Kuncoro and All England finalist Budi Santoso.